Tag: Four seasons

By Ruben Alexander

Four seasons in the Maatpolder

THE NETHERLANDS – One of the country’s many polders, or areas with controlled water levels, the Maatpolder used to be on the coast of the Zuiderzee, a bay of the North Sea. But the Zuiderzee was closed off by the Afsluitdijk in 1932, transforming it into the Ijsselmeer. Part the Ijsselmeer was later drained, and the province of Flevoland arose on new land opposite the Maatpolder,

View More